How to play with the new balls ( ! )

I started playing the first puzzle after the tutorials. But it had a NEW color ball in it, a yellow ball with an exclamation point. These balls refused to get their color changed. This was not covered in the tutorial, I don’t know what these mean. There was no Help link in the upper right to go over the rules of the game. Not fair to change the rules and not teach me about it. What do the new (!) balls mean, and how do I work with them?

Also there should be lectures on minimizing energy, e.g. trying to get it to be as far negative as possible, for the highest score. This was not covered. Also, does the energy change as I hover over a ball and think about changing it? I need to be able to compare the new thing that I might do, with the current state. Thanks.

the balls with an ! are ‘locked’ and can’t be changed - they are an extra restriction that the molecule has to obey.

negative energy is generally something to aim for in the challenges

energy doesn’t change until you change a base - you can always use the ‘back arrow’ to undo (and then the forward arrow to redo) a group of changes to look at the effects of energy for a particular set of changes.

hope that’s some help

The keyboard shortcut for undo is ‘z’.

Also, remember that the point is not to minimize energy, but rather to find the sequence which folds into the target shape. In fact, the top players who play in the lab – where we synthesize player designs – have found that “energy” is not a very good proxy for folding accuracy, in practice.

Okay, first thing to notice is that there are actually multiple different colored balls with exclamation point (!), they are not all yellow. There are red and green ones, also presumably blue ones. They don’t have the fancy design on them,
but you can still see what they are from their colors.