Very new user, here. I may have inadvertently requested to join a group, as a group admin asked that I not attempt to join. I only recall clicking on a group name in a user profile; never selecting anything labeled “join” or the like. I thought that group name links might lead to information about the group.
Does clicking a group name in a profile effectively submit a request to join?
User only can be a member when clicking “subscribe” button on individual group page.
All users can access any group page and see information about the group not including comments. I think you were just redirected to one of group pages by clicking group name.
Please check a “subscribe” button on the group page. If you are a member, you can see a “unsubscribe” button instead of “subscribe” one.