Using EteRNA with High School Students?

Hello EteRNA community! I am a high school biology teacher and I just discovered EteRNA after reading a WIRED article yesterday. I am entertaining the idea of using EteRNA with my Honors Biology students this upcoming school year. I will also be teaching a college credit course for our STEM students in the summer of 2013 on Human and Veterinary Medicine. Since one of our topics will be medical research I am brainstorming ways I might incorporate EteRNA into that curriculum as well. I am wondering if anyone in the community has any experience or ideas for using EteRNA with high school students. Are there any age restrictions for registering? I know I will need to develop clear expectations regarding content posted on forums and in the chat window. One idea I had is to instigate a friendly competition by offering rewards to the top three student scores.

Contact clollin. He is doing this with his students in a New Jersey school.

Hi Nbuyck!

Also try contact Nadine. She have had some 4 and 5 graders play Eterna with her plus entire classes.

You can find and contact them via message. Search for their name in the player field.

Dear nbuyck:

This sounds like a fantastic idea. There are no age restrictions on registering and high school students are welcome! Please let us know (by posting here in the comments, or by sending me a message in-game) if there’s any way we can help. Also, we would love to hear your experiences afterwards.

Hi Nbuyck, I discovered EteRNA on Wired on 7/13 and had the same thought! I am planning to use EteRNA in my Biotechnology Engineering class this year (2012/13). We do a long unit on DNA/RNA sequencing techniques. I think EteRNA will be an excellent resource!

I look forward to hearing how other teachers are using EteRNA.

Lets keep in touch!

We are receiving some requests from teachers at the university or graduate level for teaching material as well.