Newbie questions

Hello all. Nice to be here. As a newbie I have 2 questions: (1) When solving puzzles there are many solutions - some with lower energies (desired). Does this matter or is the only main objective to get the fold right? (2) Some puzzles have restrictions, e.g. no more than 5 C-G bonds, etc. What is the purpose of these restrictions? Is it a reflection on some natural requirement or is it arbitrary? Thanks!

1 Like

OK, so I’m replying to myself - LOL. OK, I got question 1 down after reading other posts and the fine strategy guides from Brourd, Fisker, et al - THANKS! For general recreational puzzle solving you can just get the RNA to fold correctly. But in real life you want to make the fold as energy stable as possible - so I suppose when it gets to lab-based puzzles for synthesis (competition) then we want the best most stable designs - low energy.

So, only question #2 I’m not so sure about.

As my knowledge evolves, again through the help of others, I’m beginning to answer my own questions. I’m documenting it here in the hopes it might help someone else. The goal of lab puzzles is NOT to simply get the highest free energy as I mentioned above! Too little free energy and the bonds will be too weak to be stable and too much free energy means the RNA might NOT fold, IN REAL LIFE as expected. So now I’m beginning to see that there is some art needed here in all of this.

Yeah, but what is the golden median between kcal and stability? You guys in the lab - we want to get inside your head - spill the beans… There must be a way to do it perfectly…

Yo 0bodyCount, Fisker’s Lab Guide for New Players has some interesting tips regarding energy balance and other tips:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Y…

Nice one, thanks